top of page
Search

Check Out Shepherd-Maybe There IS a Free Lunch

Here’s a fast one minute read I think you’ll find invaluable, peeps. I know authors are very tired of me telling them not to give their books away for free. Well, sorry, but it’s true: you really shouldn’t give your books away for free. I understand authors do that because they need momentum and they want reviews, but devaluing your work isn’t going to make that happen.


Therefore, I kept my promise to find ways to promote your book at little or no cost, and it does not involve giving anything away, but rather just a little bit of your time. I found one option that I think is outstanding.


Shepherd offers a promo for virtually all authors, if those authors are willing to create a “Top Five” list and contribute it to Shepherd's website. It's more or less an even-up trade.


I was very happy with the Hot Winter Sun promo and the Top Five list was attractively designed and very reader friendly. (You'll find the ink at the bottom)


Yes, it probably took about an hour of my time to make my list and submit everything, but now I have a permanent cameo on their site. Best of all, this type of promotion does not involve the desperate vibe that you put out when you’re running around giving books away for free. Rather, it’s professional and upscale.


I'll definitely be doing it again with the next book in my series, and that list will include A Perfect Evil by EC Sheedy and some other awesome pics that I think will go great with my Cold Summer Wind page. If you’re an author, try it out. You don’t have anything to lose. Not even a book!


So, as promised, I was the Guinea pig. And I'm glad I jumped in! Here’s the link: https://shepherd.com/best-books/character-driven-historical-suspense-with-romance


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Boost Your Writing Career–Leave the Writers Groups

Well, inspired by a tiny rant I did on Facebook, my friend Leila told me I should do a post about this, and since I haven’t posted anything new in a while, I decided, what the heck? I guess I will. Wh

Why You Need to Stop Miscategorizing Your Books

Some authors–and even publishers–will dump their novels into any category at all if they think it will benefit them. It’s irrelevant to them how much this messes up that particular category, or the ov

Is Traditional Publishing Going Away? Probably

Is traditional publishing phasing out? Is self-publishing eventually going to be the new norm? Probably. People in the publishing industry have been aware of this for a long, long time. The trend has

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page