top of page
Search

Don't Shoot the Messenger-Truth is Truth

Yes. This is a little tough love here. I do not apologize. One of the worst mistakes I see new authors make is not understanding how important it is to get an education before trying to jump into the field of writing. I’ve joined writing groups throughout the years looking for colleagues. That didn’t turn out as expected, and I’m actually leaving some of those groups, but more on the value of social media groups later. Ultimately, I found that many of the writer's forums and groups on Facebook and other social media sites are younger writers who are just starting out. So maybe I didn’t necessarily find colleagues, but those groups were fun places to chat or to be helpful to people who are just beginning their careers.


Image by Gerd Altmann


However, a strange trend began over the past 10 years, and it is somewhat troubling. Perhaps KDP inadvertently created this issue, I’m not sure. But there are far too many people out there with raw talent who don’t understand the importance of learning the craft. I would see questions like, “I want to write a book, what should it be about?” Or “I want to be a writer, how do I do it?”


Well, no one would go on Facebook and say “I want to be a mechanic, how do I do it?” They would realize it’s something they need to go to school for. Nobody would go on Twitter and say “I want to be an accountant, can someone show me how?” They would know that that is an occupation for which they need training. Writing is no different.


You DO need instruction and education in the field if you’re going to make a living at it. I finally said this in one of the groups–using the most sugar coated verbiage that I could muster for this oh- so- fragile modern world, and I immediately got banned from the group. Yes. For daring to say that you need college or at the very least, creative writing courses before you try to write a book and get it published. Well, just as a side note…if you are too fragile to hear that you need an education, I ASSURE you, you will NEVER make it in the publishing world. It’s not for the fragile.


Life isn’t a glee club, peeps. There’s no point in creating groups to encourage everyone and tell them that they are wonderful writers and if they just believe, one day they’ll be a famous author on the New York Times bestseller list.


That’s called false hope.


It’s difficult enough to succeed in this field WITH a great education, but without that, you have no chance. That’s not being mean. That’s not being negative. That’s not “bullying.” (God help our fragile little souls.) It’s just the sane, sober, truth. If you think you have talent and want a career in writing or journalism, GET AN EDUCATION. It starts there. Don’t shoot the messenger. Write on!


10 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Boost Your Writing Career–Leave the Writers Groups

Well, inspired by a tiny rant I did on Facebook, my friend Leila told me I should do a post about this, and since I haven’t posted anything new in a while, I decided, what the heck? I guess I will. Wh

Why You Need to Stop Miscategorizing Your Books

Some authors–and even publishers–will dump their novels into any category at all if they think it will benefit them. It’s irrelevant to them how much this messes up that particular category, or the ov

Is Traditional Publishing Going Away? Probably

Is traditional publishing phasing out? Is self-publishing eventually going to be the new norm? Probably. People in the publishing industry have been aware of this for a long, long time. The trend has

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page