top of page
Search

Just a Quick I Love You

Okay, as promised, I’ve started to create posts based on people’s questions. I can’t do a full one today because I am quite literally buried alive writing travelogues and sales copy for Christmas merchants right now, plus I have a book signing event in the morning! However, I did start to work on the first one.


I’m trying to work them in the order in which they came in.


The first question was from someone who wanted to know if it’s important to be on all the merchant’s sites, not just Amazon. Well, the answer to that is a resounding yes! But I’m going to write a full post on that very shortly. You do need them all, and I’ll explain why.


The next question was about web content writing, which I always enjoy, because I assume everyone who follows this page is a novelist or songwriter. I’m always willing to talk about writing web content, though. This question was about Surfer, AL, junk software. Yikes. I will be more than happy to address THAT.


The next one was someone who asked why people stay with publishers if they’re not getting them any action. Unfortunately, I can’t answer that. I understand the curiosity, it’s just that nobody can answer that question for someone else, so that individual would need to ask whoever it is they’re wondering about and see if they’d share their thoughts on that.


I will say this: everyone has a different goal in mind with his or her writing, and some people are happy self published, some people will wait their whole life hoping to get picked up by one of the Big Five, still others choose smaller publishers, and some people even do hybrid publishing–the only one on that list I don’t recommend.


So I suppose I could briefly address it that way and say, whatever you do, pick one option! In other words, get an agent and shoot for the stars, choose a smaller press (you still might need an agent) or self publish. Don’t slosh around in the mushy middle. However, so as not to leave that person out in the cold, I will do a post in the next month or so about the differences among those options, and the pros and cons of each. Just don't ask me to make your decision for you. The best person to make that is you!


Well, that’s my quick update, and I will be back to do a normal post sometime next week when I take care of some scary deadlines. In the meantime, my current numbers on Amazon are


Best Sellers Rank: #138,531 in Kindle Store (See Top 100 in Kindle Store)

#479 in Gothic Romances

#854 in Medieval Historical Romance (Kindle Store)

#1,047 in Medieval Historical Romance (Books)

Customer Reviews: 4.7 out of 5 stars

46 ratings


I can deal with that! Both books are hanging in there. My wallet may not be happy, but, well, advertising works.


Lastly, if you’re in Florence, South Carolina tomorrow, check this out:



And to those of you who have faithfully read every post I've ever written, I'm pleased and flattered and I hope you find what you're looking for!

8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Boost Your Writing Career–Leave the Writers Groups

Well, inspired by a tiny rant I did on Facebook, my friend Leila told me I should do a post about this, and since I haven’t posted anything new in a while, I decided, what the heck? I guess I will. Wh

Why You Need to Stop Miscategorizing Your Books

Some authors–and even publishers–will dump their novels into any category at all if they think it will benefit them. It’s irrelevant to them how much this messes up that particular category, or the ov

Is Traditional Publishing Going Away? Probably

Is traditional publishing phasing out? Is self-publishing eventually going to be the new norm? Probably. People in the publishing industry have been aware of this for a long, long time. The trend has

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page